Australia's best betting sites

WNBL betting guide: How to bet on women’s basketball

The Women’s National Basketball League is the highest level of the sport for female players in Australia.

While it might not draw the crowds that the relaunched men’s competition now does, the WNBL offers plenty of opportunity for punters on the prowl for hidden value.

Find out which leading Australian bookies run the best markets and cater to the WNBL the best:

Best WNBL bookie sites

United States This is my table

This is my table

#1 BetOnline

Fast Payouts

50% matched deposit up to USD $5,000

Available to residents of United States
#2 Bovada

Live Betting Odds

Claim a 50% deposit bonus up to the value of USD $250

Available to residents of United States only recommends online bookmakers that tick all the boxes for product quality, online security, banking options, multi-platform convenience and customer service. Each of the bookies below is licensed and regulated in Australia, runs competitive odds across a wide range of markets, and offers registered customers all types of great hooks.

How to bet on women’s basketball in Australia

New to online betting? Never fear, because it takes only minutes to create an account, deposit some money and start punting. Every one of our top-ranked basketball bookies is optimised for PC, Mac and mobile, with browser sites and betting apps that run on iOS, Android, Windows Phone and most other operating systems.

Top WNBL betting markets

There are hundreds of different ways to have a flutter on the WNBL. These are a few of the most popular market types.

Current WNBL teams

The Women’s National Basketball League was founded in 1981. The first 11 seasons were dominated by suburban Melbourne teams that are now long defunct, notably the St Kilda Saints (1981 and ’82 champions), Coburg Cougars (1985 champions) and Nunawading Spectres (six-time champs between 1983 and ’89). The current format features eight teams from six states and territories: three from Victoria and one each from the ACT, New South Wales, Queensland, South Australia and Western Australia.

Adelaide Lighting
Founded in 1993, the Lightning dominated the ’90s with four WNBL Championship wins between 1994 and 1998. Ever-present in those triumphs was Rachael Sporn – an eight-time league All-Star and two-time MVP who represented Australia at three Olympics.

Bendigo Spirit
The youngest of the WNBL franchises was created in 2007 and won back-to-back titles in 2012-13 and 2013-14. Notable past and present players include four-time Olympic medallist Kristi Harrower, dual Grand Final MVP Kelsey Griffin and Canadian international Chelsea Aubry.

Dandenong Rangers
Based in the south-eastern suburbs of Melbourne, the Rangers were formed in 1992 and have regularly featured at the top end of the table. They had to wait until 2004 for their first title, however, and last won it in 2012.

Melbourne Boomers
The erstwhile Bulleen Boomers joined the comp in 1984 and changed their name to Melbourne in 2013. Despite a star-studded alumni that includes Michele Timms, Liz Cambage and Jenna O’Hea, the Boomers have only a single title to their name. They enjoy a healthy rivalry with Dandenong Rangers.

Perth Lynx
Perth joined the WNBL in 1988 as the Breakers and have enjoyed the services of several top-class talents over the years, including Robyn Maher, Tully Bevilaqua, Deanna Smith and Sami Whitcomb. Some rough years on and off the court since 2000 have prevented them from adding to their loan championship win in 1992.

Sydney Uni Flames
The Flames have undergone more facelifts than the late Joan Rivers. They were the Bankstown Bruins (1981-88), the Sydney Bruins (1989-91), the Sydney Flames (1992-2000) and the Sydney Panthers (2000-03) before settling on Sydney Uni Flames in 2003. They have won four titles, including the 2017 WNBL Championship.

Townsville Fire
Queensland’s only active franchise joined the WNBL at the start of the millennium. Since 2010 the Fire have been among the strongest teams in the competition, highlighted by back-to-back title victories in 2014-15 and 2015-16. Former stars include Gina Stevens, Natalie Porter and Rohanee Cox.

University of Canberra Capitals
This is the team that Lauren Jackson built. Between 2000 and 2010, the Capitals won a league-record seven WNBL Championships. Jackson was MVP in four of those grand finals. Other notables include former Opals captain Jenny Cheesman, WNBA first-round draftee Kristen Veal and triple Olympic rep Shelley Gorman.