Australia's best betting sites

Sydney Thunder betting

Sydney Thunder BBL odds

The Sydney Thunder have gone from zero to hero and back to zero again over the last few years in the Big Bash League. No team has finished last more often, but can the Green Machine make a finals charge this summer? Here is everything you need to know about the Thunder for the 2023/24 BBL campaign.

About the Sydney Thunder

Established: 2011
Home ground: Spotless Stadium
Coach: Trevor Bayliss
Captain: Chris Green
BBL titles: 1 (BBL05)

Best bookmakers to bet on the Sydney Thunder

United States This is my table

This is my table

Sydney Thunder Latest News and Tips

Sydney Thunder v Melbourne Renegades BBL13 Preview - January 17

BBL13 Preview: Thunder vs Renegades cricket tips and betting odds

The final match of the BBL13 regular season will take place at the Sydney Showground Stadium, with the Thunder hosting ...
Sydney Sixers v Sydney Thunder BBL13 Preview

Sydney Sixers v Sydney Thunder BBL13 tips & preview | 12/1/24

Friday night BBL13 action takes place at the Sydney Cricket Ground with the Sydney Smash between the Sixers and Thunder ...

Sydney Thunder 23/24 fixture

Thunder BBL dates
Opponent Date Venue Time (AEDT)
Brisbane Heat Tuesday, December 12 Manuka Oval, Canberra 7:15pm
Adelaide Strikers Tuesday, December 19 Adelaide Oval, Adelaide 7:15pm
Melbourne Stars Saturday, December 23 Lavington Sports Ground, Albury 3:30pm
Brisbane Heat Wednesday, December 27 The Gabba, Brisbane 7:15pm
Sydney Sixers Saturday, December 30 Sydney Showground Stadium, Sydney 7:15pm
Hobart Hurricanes Monday, January 1 Bellerive Oval, Hobart 4:00pm
Perth Scorchers Monday, January 8 Sydney Showground Stadium, Sydney 7:15pm
Sydney Sixers Friday, January 12 SCG, Sydney 7:15pm
Adelaide Strikers Sunday, January 14 Manuka Oval, Canberra 7:15pm
Melbourne Renegades Wednesday, January 17 Sydney Showground Stadium, Sydney 7:15pm

Sydney Thunder players to watch

Cameron Bancroft

Cameron Bancroft

Cameron Bancroft has made the switch from the Scorchers to the Thunder as one of the best openers in the recent history of the BBL. His ability to play conventional cricket shots with power and precision is unrivalled. Bancroft will provide stability at the top of the innings that will allow his teammates to play with freedom and aggression.

Jason Sangha

Jason Sangha

Jason Sangha is finally living up to the hype that has surrounded him for years. To begin the summer, he made strong contributions of 68 not out and 114 not out for a competition-winning Randwick-Petersham side in Sydney Premier Cricket. Sangha has continued to improve with time and BBL13 may be a sign of even bigger things to come.

Tanveer Sangha

Tanveer Sangha

Tanveer Sangha has developed immensely throughout 2023 in his stint with the Birmingham Phoenix before making his Australian T20I debut against South Africa in Durban and taking 4/31. Sangha has since been in India with the World Cup winning squad where he has no doubt improved, which will bring an enormous boost for the Thunder in BBL13.

Sydney Thunder futures betting

Bookmakers have the Thunder as outsiders at $8 to win the title in BBL13 on account of their changing and aging roster. The squad also lacks the depth and pedigree compared to franchises like the Scorchers, Sixers and Heat.

Sydney Thunder all-time XI

  1. Usman Khawaja
  2. Shane Watson
  3. Jaques Kallis
  4. Callum Ferguson
  5. Michael Hussey
  6. Jos Buttler (wk)
  7. Daniel Sams
  8. Chris Green
  9. Gurinder Sandhu
  10. Dirk Nannes
  11. Fawad Ahmed

The international star power that the Thunder have enjoyed over the years is some of the best the competition has witnessed. Jaques Kallis was incredible in the early instalments of the BBL and Jos Butler improved to be one of the most dangerous batters in world cricket. Usman Khawaja, Shane Watson, and Callum Ferguson have all scored centuries for their franchise while Michael Hussey also enjoyed success in the back end of his career.

The incredible skill and variation in the bowling attack of Sams, Green, Sandhu, Nannes and Ahmed makes this all-time Thunder bowling attack one of the strongest in the league.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x