Australia's best betting sites

Sydney Sixers betting

Big Bash League

It was no great surprise when Sydney’s glamour team won in the inaugural T20 Big Bash League title in 2011/12. The Sixers have failed to replicate that early success since, however, twice reaching the final and twice coming up short. After missing finals altogether last summer, the men in pink are aiming for the top in BBL08.

About the Sydney Thunder

Established: 2011
Home ground: Sydney Cricket Ground
Coach: Greg Shipperd
Captain: Moises Henriques
BBL titles: 1 (BBL01)

Best bookmakers for T20 Big Bash betting

#1 Real Punters Play At PlayUp
  • MasterCard deposit
  • Visa deposit
Bet Now Read Review Available to residents of United States
Real Punters Play At PlayUp

Sydney Sixers fixtures for BBL|08

Sixers BBL dates
Opponent Date Venue Time
Perth Scorchers Saturday, December 22, 2018 SCG 3.30pm AEDT
Sydney Thunder Monday, December 24, 2018 Spotless Stadium 7.15pm AEDT
Melbourne Stars Thursday, December 27, 2018 SCG 7.15pm AEDT
Melbourne Renegades Saturday, December 29, 2018 Marvel Stadium 7pm AEDT
Brisbane Heat Tuesday, January 1, 2019 Metricon Stadium 2.45pm AEDT
Hobart Hurricanes Friday, January 4, 2019 Blundstone Arena 7.15pm AEDT
Adelaide Strikers Sunday, January 6, 2019 Adelaide Oval 7.15pm AEDT
Perth Scorchers Sunday, January 13, 2019 Optus Stadium 9.35pm AEDT
Melbourne Renegades Wednesday, January 16, 2019 SCG 7.15pm AEDT
Brisbane Heat Sunday, January 20, 2019 SCG 7.15pm AEDT
Hobart Hurricanes Wednesday, January 23, 2019 SCG 7.15pm AEDT
Adelaide Strikers Tuesday, January 29, 2019 SCG 7pm AEDT
Sydney Thunder Saturday, February 2, 2019 SCG 7pm AEDT
Melbourne Stars Sunday, February 10, 2019 MCG 2.45pm AEDT

2018/19 Sydney Sixers squad

Sydney Sixers odds and betting tips

Despite finishing with the second-best run rate in the comp last season, the Sixers will start BBL08 well back in the pack. Australia’s top cricket bookmakers have them around the sixth or seventh line of outright betting, at odds of +700 or more to win the title. Thus, there should be decent value about the pink half of Sydney to finish inside the top four.

Top batsman in BBL08
With Nic Maddinson defecting to the Melbourne Stars, the Sixers will need someone to step up in the top order. Skipper Moises Henriques enjoyed a fine 2018 JLT One Day Cup campaign and looks primed for an even better Big Bash season.

Top bowler in BBL07
The Sixers’ bowling unit would be unstoppable if the likes of Mitchell Starc and Nathan Lyon weren’t forever absent on international duty. Sean Abbott has done an excellent job leading the attack in recent years, while Ben Dwarshuis has emerged as a gifted allrounder in this format.

All-time Sydney Sixers XI

1. Nic Maddinson
2. Brad Haddin
3. Steve Smith
4. Michael Lumb
5. Moises Henriques
6. Johan Botha
7. Sean Abbott
8. Mitchell Starc
9. Brett Lee
10. Nathan Lyon
11. Josh Hazlewood

The Sixers batting order just about picks itself. Maddinson, Henriques and Michael Lumb have contributed more than 3000 runs between them, Brad Haddin was excellent value at the top of the order during his time in the BBL, and Steve Smith – what more needs to be said?

From six through nine we have four excellent all-round talents. Abbott is a prolific wicket-taker at this level, Johan Botha remains one of the most consistent performers in the competition, Brett Lee was always a menace with the white ball and Starc is much the same.

Test off-spinner Lyon does not get much recognition for his work in the Twenty20 arena, but 27 Big Bash wickets at an average of 16.11 suggest the national selectors should revisit that matter. The same could be said of Josh Hazlewood, who has taken 21 scalps in only 14 games for the Sixers.

Latest cricket news and bookie offers