Australia's best betting sites

Perth Scorchers betting

Big Bash League T20

The east-coast franchises might have the big names, the big money and the big mouths, but Perth Scorchers have proven the team to beat year after year in the T20 Big Bash League.

The West Australians have played in every finals series to date, winning three out of four titles since 2013. What’s more, they have done so with a squad that relies heavily on local talent and the coaching prowess of Justin Langer, who took the reins in 2012.

Having demolished Sydney Sixers to win the 2017/18 BBL crown, the Scorchers are well backed to win the lot again in their farewell season at the WACA. Here you will find up-to-date cricket odds, fixture lists, squad news and everything else you need to know before putting your money behind the BBL’s most successful team.

About Perth Scorchers

Established: 2011
Home ground: WACA
Coach: Justin Langer
Captain: Adam Voges
BBL titles: 3 (BBL03, BBL04, BBL06)


Best bookmakers for T20 Big Bash odds

#1 $500 winnings boost
  • BPAY deposit
  • Neteller deposit
  • POLi deposit
Bet Now Read Review Available to residents of United States
$500 winnings boost


Perth Scorchers 2017/18 BBL fixture

BBL 2017/18
Opponent Date Venue Time
Sydney Sixers Saturday, December 23, 2017 SCG 4.10pm AEDT
Melbourne Stars Tuesday, December 26, 2017 WACA 7.10pm AEDT
Melbourne Renegades Friday, December 29, 2017 Etihad Stadium 7.10pm AEDT
Sydney Sixers Monday, January 1, 2018 WACA 9.20pm AEDT
Brisbane Heat Friday, January 5, 2018 Gabba 7.10pm AEDT
Melbourne Renegades Monday, January 8, 2018 WACA 9.20pm AEDT
Sydney Thunder Thursday, January 11, 2018 Spotless Stadium 7.40pm AEDT
Adelaide Strikers Saturday, January 13, 2018 TBC 4.10pm AEDT
Hobart Hurricanes Saturday, January 20, 2018 WACA 9.20pm AEDT
Adelaide Strikers Thursday, January 25, 2018 WACA 7.40pm AEDT

big bash league betting best bookmaker
big bash league betting best bookmaker

Perth Scorchers squad for BBL|07


Perth Scorchers Big Bash odds and tips

Reigning champions and aiming at a fourth title in the space of five years, the Scorchers are unsurprising favourites to take out BBL07. Online bookmaker is paying top odds of $5 for Langer’s men to defend the trophy; $2.50 to reach the final again; and $1.30 for a seventh consecutive season in the top four. All three of those bets are a red-hot chance to salute.

Top tournament batsman

Man for man, there is no better batting order in the competition. The options at the top are among the best in the business, while few T20 teams worldwide can compete with the tail-end talent of Coulter-Nile, Johnson and Willey.

That said, there are a few things to consider. Will Ashes stars Cam Bancroft and Shaun Marsh be available for any significant stretch? Might Ashton Agar, Mitch Marsh, or Hilton Cartwright earn a call-up for Australia’s ODI fixtures?

That leaves one standout, and that is Michael Klinger. With more than 4700 Twenty20 runs at an average of just under 38, ‘Maxy’ is one of the world’s most prolific short-form batsmen. Several bookies have him on the first line of betting for top series runscorer, but CrownBet is offering serious value at odds of $15 in the early market.

Top tournament bowler

Given the quality and depth of their batting stocks, one might assume the Scorchers have had to sacrifice something in the way of bowling firepower. That could not be further from the truth, however, as their star-studded pace attack is the envy of the BBL.

Perth boast not one, not two, but 10 bowlers who have represented their country in ODI and/or T20 cricket. Availability is an issue for some; Nathan Coulter-Nile is carrying an injury into the campaign, while a bit of form could lead to international duty for Jason Behrendorff and England’s David Willey later in the season.

With that in mind, we recommend looking to one of Australian cricket’s most fearsome quicks. Mitchell Johnson is retired from internationals, so there is no risk of him ducking out mid-season, and he showed with a match-winning spell of 3/3 in last year’s final that age has not robbed him of his efficacy with the white ball. The $15 quote on MJ for most wickets in William Hill’s early market is well worth a punt.

All-time Perth Scorchers XI

1. Michael Klinger
2. Shaun Marsh
3. Herschelle Gibbs
4. Adam Voges (c)
5. Mitchell Marsh
6. Marcus North
7. Sam Whiteman (wk)
8. Nathan Coulter-Nile
9. Jason Behrendorff
10. Andrew Tye
11. Brad Hogg

How do you whittle down such a successful franchise to only 11 players? Fortunately, many of these guys pick themselves – the Marsh brothers, Maxy Klinger and skipper Voges have contributed big runs year after year, while the seam trio of Behrendorff, Coulter-Nile and Tye is as good as any that has ever graced the Big Bash.

There are also some obvious selections from the archives. George Bradley Hogg was the most prolific spinner in the BBL during his five seasons with the Scorchers; South African star Herschelle Gibbs was a massive hit, smashing six half-tons in 16 innings; and WA stalwart Marcus North played a big role in the club’s early progress.

Perhaps of more note is who misses out. This is only Mitch Johnson’s second season in the orange, so he may yet work his way into the all-time XI. The same goes for Willey, who was terrific before leaving for England’s tour of India last year. Explosive openers Michael Carberry and Craig Simmons may also consider themselves unlucky, but that’s what happens when you are up against the best of the best.

Latest cricket news and betting specials

Comments are closed.