Australia's best betting sites

Hobart Hurricanes betting

Hobart Hurricanes BBL oddsHaving missed the finals last season, the Hobart Hurricanes are still searching for their first Big Bash League title. How will they fare this time around?

About the Hobart Hurricanes

Established: 2011
Home ground: Blundstone Arena
Coach: Adam Griffith
Captain: Matthew Wade
BBL titles:

Best bookmakers to bet on the Hobart Hurricanes

United States This is my table

This is my table

Hobart Hurricanes fixture

Hurricanes BBL dates
Opponent Date Venue Time (local)
Sydney Sixers Wednesday, December 8 UTAS Stadium 6:35pm AEDT
Sydney Sixers Saturday, December 11 SCG 6:35pm AEDT
Perth Scorchers Tuesday, December 14 Blundstone Arena 7:15pm AEDT
Perth Scorchers Monday, December 20 Optus Stadium 4:15pm AWST
Melbourne Stars Friday, December 24 Blundstone Arena 3:30pm AEDT
Adelaide Strikers Monday, December 27 Blundstone Arena 6:05pm AEDT
Melbourne Renegades Wednesday, December 29 Marvel Stadium 7:15pm AEDT
Brisbane Heat Saturday, January 1 Blundstone Arena 4pm AEDT
Adelaide Striker Wednesday, January 5 Adelaide Oval 5:35pm ACDT
Brisbane Heat Saturday, January 8 The Gabba 7:30pm AEST
Sydney Thunder Monday, January 10 UTAS Stadium 7:15pm AEDT
Sydney Thunder Thursday, January 13 Sydney Showgrounds 4pm AEDT
Melbourne Renegades Monday, January 17 Blundstone Arena 7:40pm AEDT
Melbourne Stars Wednesday, January 19 MCG 7:50pm AEDT

Hobart Hurricanes players to watch

Joel Paris
Paris heads over from the Perth Scorchers on the back of a strong 2020-21 domestic campaign which earned him the WA One-Day Player of the Year award. A left-arm swing bowler who boasts international experience, he adds great depth to an already strong Hurricanes bowling unit.

Tim David
David showed plenty of promise from the get-go in his first season at Blundstone Arena, smashing 58 on his club debut in a win over the Sydney Sixers. The Singapore international finished the season with a 31.00 average and a 153.30 strike rate, so Hurricanes fans will be expecting big things.

D’Arcy Short
Is there a more valuable player in the Big Bash? Short might not have been at his absolute best with the bat last season, but he still hit three half-tons and finished second to Ben McDermott in Hobart’s batter rankings. He is also a regular contributor with his wrist spin, taking 29 career wickets in the BBL.

Hobart Hurricanes futures betting

Although the ‘Canes made the finals again last year, there is little love for them in the outright betting for BBL10. The squad boasts plenty of established stars, so there might be some serious value in backing Hobart to make a run at the title.

Tips for betting on the Hobart Hurricanes

For so long a rag-tag bunch of unassuming also-rans, the Hurricanes now have a talented roster that features some of the most explosive players in the competition. Keep an eye on these names.

Most wickets betting
Riley Meredith is the undisputed spearhead of the Hobart bowling attack, but there are some other seamers worth keeping an eye on. Scott Boland has been in red-hot form on the domestic circuit, while Nathan Ellis was part of the Australian squad that won the 2021 T20 World Cup. Take your pick.

Most runs betting
D’Arcy Short and Matthew Wade has torn the competition to shreds in recent years, and with the latter unlikely to feature in the Ashes this summer, the Hurricanes could have their strongest opening combo available for much of the BBL campaign. Ben McDermott is another noted performer at this level.

Hobart Hurricanes all-time XI

The Hurricanes have had some world-class talent grace their list over the years, including Ricky Ponting, Kumar Sangakkara, Shaun Tait, Stuart Broad and Alex Hales. None of those names feature in the franchise’s all-time XI.

There is a big fight over the keeper’s slot, as no fewer than three recognised glovesmen feature in the top seven. Tim Paine mans the stumps, with Matthew Wade and Ben McDermott completing a very gifted batting lineup.

Dan Christian is a lock for the allrounder spot and Jofra Archer spearheads a bowling attack that also includes the BBL’s all-time top wicket-taker, Ben Laughlin. Cameron Boyce and Xavier Doherty have both done enough to justify the inclusion of two specialist spinners.

It’s a credit to the quality of talent the Hurricanes have recruited over the years that neither Ben Dunk nor James Faulkner can squeeze their way into the XI.

  1. D’Arcy Short
  2. Tim Paine
  3. Matthew Wade
  4. George Bailey (c)
  5. Ben McDermott
  6. Travis Birt
  7. Dan Christian
  8. Jofra Archer
  9. Cameron Boyce
  10. Ben Laughlin
  11. Xavier Doherty
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x