Australia's best betting sites

Melbourne Stars betting

Melbourne stars

The Melbourne Stars are the BBL‘s glamour club.

Responsible for the game’s biggest attendance records as a proud tenant at the mighty MCG, the Stars come with a big reputation, but have been unable to turn six consecutive finals appearances into a title.

Can the Stars break their hoodoo in 2017/18?

With big-name recruit Kevin Pietersen leading the way, along with Glenn Maxwell and a host of international talent at their disposal, the Stars will be a key player yet again. But will international duty and player availability issues come to haunt them again when it matters most?

We’ll look at the Stars’ odds, their squad, fixture and best betting markets in our full team preview.

About the Melbourne Stars

Established: 2011
Home ground: Melbourne Cricket Ground
Coach: Stephen Fleming (NZ)
Captain: John Hastings
BBL titles: 0


Best bookmakers to bet on the Melbourne Stars

#1 $500 winnings boost
  • BPAY deposit
  • Neteller deposit
  • POLi deposit
Bet Now Read Review Available to residents of United States
$500 winnings boost


Melbourne Stars 2017/18 fixture

Big Bash League
Opponent Date Venue Time
Brisbane Heat Wednesday, December 20, 2017 Gabba 7.40pm AEDT
Perth Scorchers Tuesday, December 26, 2017 WACA 7.10pm AEDT
Brisbane Heat Tuesday, January 2, 2018 MCG 7.10pm AEDT
Melbourne Renegades Saturday, January 6, 2018 MCG 7.10pm AEDT
Adelaide Strikers Tuesday, January 9, 2018 Adelaide Oval 7.10pm AEDT
Melbourne Renegades Friday, January 12, 2018 Etihad Stadium 7.40pm AEDT
Sydney Sixers Tuesday, January 16, 2018 MCG 7.40pm AEDT
Sydney Thunder Saturday, January 20, 2018 MCG 6.10pm AEDT
Sydney Sixers Tuesday, January 23, 2018 SCG 7.40pm AEDT
Hobart Hurricanes Saturday, January 27, 2018 MCG 4.10pm AEDT
big bash league betting best bookmaker
big bash league betting best bookmaker


Melbourne Stars squad

Melbourne Stars futures betting

The Melbourne Stars will start the 2017/2018 Big Bash League season as the +450 second favourite at to win their first title .

The Stars are also paying -175.44 at to make the top four and compete in their seventh-straight finals campaign.

Tips for betting on the Melbourne Stars

The Melbourne Stars have made the finals in every season of the Big Bash League for a reason – they’re usually packed with talent.

While odds are not yet released on leading run-scorers and wicket-takers for the season ahead, we’ve outlined the players to watch and the ones to avoid when laying down your hard-earned.

Most wickets betting:

If it’s one thing the Stars lack, it’s real pace. Scott Boland, James Faulkner, Ben Hilfenhaus and John Hastings will all share the new ball at different stages throughout the campaign, but we think the man who will clean up the wicket tally is short leg-spinner Adam Zampa.

Spin continues to be a weapon in the shortest form of the game and Zampa, despite modest returns last season from five matches, is our tip. He’ll start at juicy odds and continues to mature and develop his skill-set, so keep an eye on him, especially at the MCG, where it’s hard to hit a spinner out of the ground.

Most runs betting:

Just pencil Pietersen in now. The former English star and Ashes great top-scored for the Stars last season and loves playing at the MCG in front of big crowds. At 35 he may be past his prime, but he’s still more than capable of taking apart any attack in world cricket. KP’s odds won’t be big, but he’ll play every game, will never be in danger of international selection and provide plenty of value for your dollar.

Melbourne Stars all-time XI

The Melbourne Stars have had some of the game’s biggest names don their colours, creating huge blockbuster appeal for the BBL since the inception of the competition.

Names like Lasith Malinga, Glenn Maxwell, Kevin Pietersen and Luke Wright are some of the very best to ever play short-form cricket.

Let’s not forget the original Star that captained the side for its first two seasons – the legendary Shane Warne.

Warne was able to lead the side well into his late 30s, providing expert field-placing, some lower order hitting and his trademark leg spin that was a big factor until his very last game. Fans and television viewers were often left in awe as Warne, who often played with a microphone for the broadcast, would plot wickets openly and detail plans that would inevitably come to fruition.

The Melbourne Stars all-time XI from the past six seasons is one of the best you could assemble for this competition:

1. Luke Wright
2. Brad Hodge
3. Kevin Pietersen
4. David Hussey
5. Glenn Maxwell
6. Cameron White
7. Matthew Wade
8. James Faulkner
9. Lasith Malinga
10. Shane Warne (c)
11. Jackson Bird

Latest cricket news and bonus offers

Comments are closed.