Australia's best betting sites

T20 World Cup: England into Super Eight, Australia deny Scotland

2024 T20 World Cup

Australia denied Scotland an upset victory at the T20 World Cup on Sunday (AEST), and in doing so ensured that England will also qualify for the Super Eight phase of the tournament.

Heading into the match, defending champions England had their fates in the balance. After losing to Australia and having their match against Scotland washed out, a win to Scotland over Australia would send the English packing.

It was not to be, however, with Australia prevailing by five wickets with two balls remaining.

Valiant Scotland almost pull off upset

This result was not the sure thing that many expected it to be.

Cricket bookmakers had Australia as heavy favourites, with some putting them as low as $1.20 to win against Scotland. However, the minnows played a big game, and almost executed a stunning upset.

Put into bat first, Scotland got about their business despite a losing Michael Jones in the first over. George Munsey and Brandon McMullen put on an 89-run partnership for the second wicket, ensuring that Scotland moved along at 10-an-over as well.

Richie Berrington carried on where Munsey left off when the opener was dismissed for 35 (23). The captain struck a handy 42 (31) not out, taking his side through to a very competitive 180/5 from their 20 overs.

Glenn Maxwell was the pick of the Aussie bowlers, taking two wickets but went at a healthy 11 runs an over.

In response, Australia bumbled along early. Travis Head was resolute from one end, but at the other, wickets fell. David Warner, Mitchell Marsh and Glenn Maxwell all went early.

It wasn’t until Marcus Stoinis came to the crease that Australia really began to push the Scottish bowlers.

Needing 89 runs off the last seven overs, Stoinis upped the ante, plundering back-to-back maximums. Head joined in with three from four balls himself soon after.

Still, the match went down to the wire. Australia needed eight runs from the final over, and it took a Tim David six with just two balls to go to seal the deal.

Super Eight all but confirmed at T20 World Cup

This result all but confirms the Super Eight teams for the T20 World Cup.

India and the United States are through from Group A, with Pakistan missing out.

In Group B, it’s Australia and England, after Scotland failed to get over the line in this match.

Group C sees New Zealand miss out, with Afghanistan and the West Indies progressing.

In Group D, South Africa is confirmed. Bangladesh looks likely to join them, though technically the Netherlands can still make it, if the former lose heavily and they pull off a big win over Sri Lanka.

Sports news

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x