Australia's best betting sites

Socceroos name squad for Men’s International Window matches

Graham Arnold
Graham Arnold sees positive signs with the Socceroos ahead of crucial matches in England in the coming weeks.

The Socceroos have named their squad for the FIFA Men’s International Window matches, will serve as a key lead-up for the World Cup qualification in November and Asian Cup, which will be played in Qatar early next year.

Socceroos Head Coach Graham Arnold officially announced the squad on Thursday morning, with the outfit set to take on England at Wembley Stadium and New Zealand in Brentford on October 14 and 18.

Australian bookmakers are yet to launch odds on these two friendly fixtures, with these set to be available closer to the date, with it hard to frame markets without squads available.

The clash against the Three Lions is significant given it is the first time the Socceroos will have played at Wembley Stadium, while the match against New Zealand will be played for the Soccer Ashes Trophy, which has been lost for over six decades.

MORE: Soccer betting sites

Beyond the primary squad, Arnold has decided to incorporate three additional train-on players into the camp: Alex Robertson (Portsmouth FC), Mohamed Toure (Paris FC), and Patrick Yazbek (Viking FK).

The upcoming October window is crucial for Arnold and his coaching ensemble as it offers the last chance to engage with the players before the commencement of the qualification process for the FIFA World Cup 2026, starting this November. This period is also vital preparation for the AFC Asian Cup Qatar 2023, scheduled for January 2024.

The Socceroos have had their mettle tested in 2023, having encountered top-tier teams, including the reigning FIFA World Cup champions Argentina, as well as Ecuador, Mexico, and England.

Jackson Irvine, who recently made a triumphant comeback from an ankle injury while playing for FC St. Pauli, will rejoin the Socceroos’ squad. Craig Goodwin has also been named in the lineup following his recent transfer to Al Wehda FC in the Saudi Pro League, where he showcased his talent by scoring in each of his first three games.

Massimo Luongo, boasting 43 caps as a Socceroo and the title of 2015 AFC Asian Cup winner, will be part of the squad for the first time since 2019, following his strong start this season with Ipswich Town FC in the EFL Championship.

In addition, 23-year-old Lewis Miller, a defender from Hibernian FC, received his first call-up to the senior national team, joining the swelling ranks of Socceroos in the Scottish Premier League.

Other notable inclusions are Awer Mabil, who has recently transferred to the Swiss club Grasshopper Club Zürich, and Brandon Borrello and Andrew Redmayne, both of whom have displayed excellent form in the pre-season Australia Cup ahead of the 2023/24 A-League Men season.

Coach Arnold expressed enthusiasm about assembling his squad in London.

“We’ve played some quality opposition in recent months, and I’ve been happy with how we’re building towards what’s an important period,” Arnold said.

“This period [post-Qatar 2022] has always been geared towards those outcomes, as we refine the system and style of play that will carry us through the Asian Cup and World Cup qualification.

“I think it’s fitting this work culminates in what will be an amazing occasion at Wembley, as well as the opportunity to face New Zealand as we play for one of the earliest trophies in Socceroos’ history.”

“We’ve got a fantastic group of young players coming through, many who have come through the Olyroos Olympic program, we’re now seeing the benefits of that work and investment. The involvement of players in a train-on capacity in this camp is about bringing them into the environment as they continue their development.”

Australian fans can catch the Subway Socceroos in action against both England and New Zealand live and exclusively on channels 10 and 10 Play, as well as on Paramount+.

Socceroos Squad: Keanu Baccus (St Mirren FC, Scotland), Aziz Behich (Melbourne City FC, Australia), Brandon Borrello (Western Sydney Wanderers FC, Australia), Jordy Bos (K.V.C Westerlo, Belgium), Martin Boyle (Hibernian FC, Scotland), Cameron Burgess (Ipswich Town FC, England), Alessandro Circati (Parma Calcio 1913, Italy), Milos Degenek (FK Crvena zvezda, Serbia), Mitchell Duke (FC Machida Zelvia, Japan), Craig Goodwin (Al Wehda FC, Saudi Arabia), Thomas Glover (Middlesbrough FC, England), Jackson Irvine (FC St Pauli, Germany), Massimo Luongo (Ipswich Town FC, England), Awer Mabil (Grasshopper Club Zürich, Switzerland), Riley McGree (Middlesbrough FC, England), Connor Metcalfe (FC St. Pauli, Germany), Lewis Miller (Hibernian FC, Scotland), Andrew Redmayne (Sydney FC, Australia), Kye Rowles (Heart of Midlothian FC, Scotland), Mathew Ryan (AZ Alkmaar, Netherland), Sam Silvera (Middlesbrough FC, England), Harry Souttar (Leicester City FC, England), Ryan Strain (St Mirren FC, Scotland).

More sports News

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

More News

All Recent News
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x