Australia's best betting sites

Group racing in Australia

Australia has the toughest group racing in the world with many of the world’s best sprinters currently plying their trade on our shores.

While the Melbourne Cup is regarded as the premier staying race in the world, much of the group 1 calendar is filled with quality races for our best sprinters.

There has been a growing push to have an increased amount of staying races, largely because hardened international horses have been dominating our wealthiest races held over 2000m. Many of the premier group races in Australia are held during the spring in Victoria with the Melbourne Cup Carnival being the pinnacle of racing in Australia.

Other big carnivals in Australia include the Magic Millions on the Gold Coast and The Championships, which features six group 1 races on the same card, on the same day. Racing NSW started this carnival and immediately have claimed it as Australia’s best and it is only getting better.

Group 1 races in Australia

Memsie Stakes
Makybe Diva Stakes
Underwood Stakes
Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes
AJ Moir Stakes
Turnbull Stakes
Caufield Guineas
Thousand Guineas
Toorak Handicap
Caulfield Stakes
Caulfield Cup
Manikato Stakes
WS Cox Plate
AAMi Victoria Derby
Longings Mile
Coolmore Stud
Myer Classic
Melbourne Cup
Crown Oaks
Emirates Stakes
VRC Sprint Classic
CF Orr Stakes
Lightning Stakes
Blue Diamond Stakes
Futurity Stakes
Oakleigh Plate
Australian Guineas
Australian Cup
Newmarket Handicap
William Reid Stakes

Queensland – Group 1 races
Doomben Cup
Queensland Oaks
Stradbroke Handicap
Queensland Derby
The TJ Smith
Winter Stakes

South Australian Group 1 races
Australasian Oaks
Robert Sangster Stakes
SA Derby

Western Australian Group 1 racing
Railways Stakes
Winterbottom Stakes
Kingston Town Classic

Group 2 races in Australia

A D Hollindale Stakes
A.V. Kewney Stakes
Adelaide Cup
Ajax Stakes
Alister Clark Stakes
Angus Armanasco Stakes
Apollo Stakes
ATC Chairman’s Handicap
Australia Stakes
Autumn Stakes
Blamey Stakes
Blazer Stakes
Bobbie Lewis Quality
BRC Sires Produce Stakes
Breeders’ Classic
Brisbane Cup
Carlyon Stakes
Caulfield Autumn Classic
Caulfield Sprint
CB Cox Stakes
Challenge Stakes
Champagne Classic
Chelmsford Stakes
Crystal Mile
Dane Ripper Quality
Danehill Stakes
Dato Tan Chin Nam Stakes
Doomben Roses
Eagle Farm Cup
Edward Manifold Stakes
Emancipation Stakes
Euclase Stakes
Expressway Stakes
Furious Stakes
Gilgai Stakes
Golden Pendant
Herbert Power Stakes
Hill Stakes
Hobartville Stakes
Karrakatta Plate
Lee-Steere Stakes
Let’s Elope Stakes
Light Fingers Stakes
Magic Night Stakes
Matriarch Stakes
McEwen Stakes
Millie Fox Stakes
Missile Stakes
Moonee Valley Cup
Moonee Valley Fillies Classic
Moonee Valley Oaks
Moonee Valley Vase
Pago Pago Stakes
PB Lawrence Stakes
Perth Cup
Phar Lap Stakes
Premiere Stakes
Queen Of The South Stakes
Queensland Guineas
Reisling Slipper Trial
Roman Consul Stakes
Rose Of Kingston Stakes
Royal Sovereign Stakes
Rubiton Stakes
Run to the Rose
Salinger Stakes
Sandown Guineas
Sapphire Stakes
Schillaci Stakes
Shannon Stakes
Silver Shadow Stakes
Silver Slipper Stakes
Sir Byrne Hart Stakes
St George Stakes
Stan Fox Stakes
Stutt Stakes
Sunline Stakes
Surround Stakes
Tea Rose Stakes
The Shorts
Theo Marks Stakes
Thousand Guineas Prelude
Todman Slipper Trial
Tramway Stakes
Tristarc Stakes
Tulloch Stakes
Victory Stakes
Villiers Stakes
VRC Sires Produce Stakes
WA Guineas
Wakeful Stakes
Warwick Stakes
WATC Derby
WH Stocks Stakes
Yallambee Stud Classic
Zipping Classic (Sandown Classic)

Group 3 races in Australia

AJ Scahill Stakes
Angst Stakes
Asian Beau Stakes
Aurie’s Star Handicap
Begonia Belle Stakes
Belle Of The Turf Stakes
Belmont Sprint
Bendigo Cup
Bill Ritchie Handicap
BJ McLachlan Plate
Bletchingly Stakes
BRC Sprint
Cameron Handicap
Carbine Club Stakes
Caulfield Classic
Caulfield Guineas Prelude
Chatham Stakes
Cockram Stakes
Colin Stephen Quality
Colonel Reeves Stakes
Concorde Stakes
Craven Plate
CS Hayes Stakes
Dark Jewel Classic
David Jones Cup
Eclipse Stakes
Fred Best Classic
Geelong Cup
George Moore Stakes
Glenlogan Park Stakes
Gloaming Stakes
Gold Coast Guineas
Grand Prix Stakes
Hawkesbury Gold Cup
HDF McNeil Stakes
How Now Stakes
Hyperion Stakes
Kevin Heffernan Stakes
Kingston Town Stakes
Ladies Day Vase
Lee Steere Classic
Lexus Stakes
Lord Mayor’s Cup
Maribyrnong Plate
Maybe Mahal Stakes
Ming Dynasty Quality
Moonga Stakes
MVRC Champagne Stakes
Naturalism Stakes
Newcastle Gold Cup
Newcastle Spring Stakes
Northerly Stakes
Ottawa Stakes
Premier’s Cup
Prince Of Wales Stakes
Queen’s Cup
Quezette Stakes
Red Anchor Stakes
Red Roses Stakes
RJ Peters Stakes
Roma Cup
San Domenico Stakes
Sandown Stakes
Sheraco Stakes
Show County Quality
Sir John Monash Stakes
South Australian Fillies Classic
Sportingbet Sprint Series Final
Spring Stakes
Standish Handicap
Strickland Stakes
Summer Cup
Summoned Stakes
Sunshine Coast Guineas
Tattersall’s Cup
Tesio Stakes
The Bart Cummings
The Heath 1100
The Nivison
Thoroughbred Club Stakes
Tibbie Stakes
Toy Show Quality
Up And Coming Stakes
Vain Stakes
Vo Rogue Plate
WA Champion Fillies Stakes
WJ Healy Stakes
Zeditave Stakes