Australia's best betting sites

Big Bash League stats

Big Bash League stats 2024

More so than any sport, history helps create a picture of what could come next in cricket. With the 2019/20 Big Bash League season upon us, we look at all of the stat leaders in the competition and which records are the ones most likely to fall this summer. All records are correct as of the conclusion of BBL12.

Big Bash League results

Adelaide Strikers Brisbane
Hobart Hurricanes Melbourne Renegades Melbourne Stars Perth Scorchers Sydney
Sydney Thunder
2011/12 6th 5th SF (2nd) 7th SF (4th) GF (3rd) GF (3rd) 8th
2012/13 5th GF (4th) 6th SF (1st) SF (3rd) GF (2nd) 7th 8th
2013/14 7th 5th GF (4th) 6th SF (1st) GF (3rd) SF (2nd) 8th
2014/15 SF (1st) 8th 5th 6th SF (3rd) GF (2nd) GF (4th) 7th
2015/16 SF (1st) 6th 7th 5th GF (2nd) SF (3rd) 8th GF (4th)
2016/17 7th SF (2nd) 7th 5th SF (4th) GF (1st) GF (3rd) 8th
2017/18 GF (2nd) 7th GF (4th) SF (3rd) 8th SF (1st) 5th 6th
2018/19 7th 5th SF (1st) GF (2nd) GF (4th) 8th SF (3rd) 6th
2019/20 SF (3rd) 7th 5th 8th GF (1st) 6th GF (2nd) SF (4th)
2020/21 5th SF (4th) 6th 8th 7th GF (2nd) GF (1st) SF (3rd)
2021/22 SF (4th) 7th 5th 8th 6th GF (1st) GF (2nd) SF (3rd)
2022/23 7th GF (4th) 6th SF (3rd) 8th GF (1st) SF (2nd) 5th


2023/24 Big Bash winner odds

Team 2023/24 BBL outright odds
Perth Scorchers +250 Best Odds @ Neds
Sydney Sixers +450 Best Odds @ Neds
Hobart Hurricanes +600 Best Odds @ Neds
Brisbane Heat +700 Best Odds @ Neds
Sydney Thunder +700 Best Odds @ Neds
Adelaide Strikers +800 Best Odds @ Neds
Melbourne Renegades +900 Best Odds @ Neds
Melbourne Stars +900 Best Odds @ Neds

Best bookmakers for BBL betting

United States This is my table

This is my table

Big Bash League bowling records

Most wickets:

Player Wickets Matches played
Sean Abbott (Sixers, Thunder) 154 109
Andrew Tye (Scorchers, Thunder) 144 101
Kane Richardson (Strikers, Renegades) 129 102
Ben Dwarshuis (Sixers) 117 95
Adam Zampa (Strikers, Stars, Thunder) 114 99

Best bowling figures:

Player Figures Opponent Season
Lasith Malinga (Stars) 6/7 from 4 overs Scorchers 2012/13
Ish Sodhi (Strikers) 6/11 from 3.3 overs Thunder 2016/17
Rashid Khan (Strikers) 6/17 from 4 overs Heat 2021/22
Henry Thornton (Strikers) 3/5 from 2.5 overs Thunder 2021/22
Daniel Christian (Hurricanes) 5/14 from 4 overs Strikers 2016/17

Players to take a hat-trick:

Player Opposition dismissals Season
Xavier Doherty (Hurricanes) Sydney Thunder
Simon Keen (c)
Ryan Carters (st)
Cameron Borgas (lbw)
AJ Tye (Scorchers) Brisbane Heat
Jack Wildermuth (c)
Mitchell Swepson (c)
Mark Steketee (b)
AJ Tye (Scorchers) Sydney Sixers
Sean Abbott (c)
Steve O’Keefe (c)
Daniel Sams (lbw)
Josh Lalor (Heat) Perth Scorchers
Andrew Tye (c)
Matthew Kelly (c)
Nick Hobson (c)
Rashid Khan (Strikers) Sixers
James Vince (c)
Jack Edwards (lbw)
Jordan Silk (w)
Haris Rauf (Stars) Thunder
Matthew Gilkes (c)
Callum Ferguson (b)
Daniel Sams (lbw)
Gurinder Sandhu (Thunder) Scorchers
Colin Munro (c)
Aaron Hardie (c)
Laurie Evans (c)
Cameron Boyce (Renegades) Thunder
Alex Hales (c)
Jason Sangha (st)
Alex Ross (lbw)
Daniel Sams (lbw)
Michael Neser (Heat) Renegades
Jake Fraser-McGurk (c)
Nic Maddinson (b)
Jonathan Wells (b)
Nathan Ellis (Hurricanes) Thunder
Matthew Gilkes (lbw)
Oliver Davies (c)
Nathan McAndrew (b)

Big Bash League batting records

Most runs:

Batsmen Innings Runs
Chris Lynn (Strikers, Heat) 113 3421
Aaron Finch (Renegades) 102 3245
Jonathan Wells (Strikers, Hurricanes, Renegades) 126 2797
D’Arcy Short (Hurricanes) 82 2706
Glenn Maxwell (Renegades, Stars) 100 2673

Highest individual score:

Batsmen Innings Opposition Season
Glenn Maxwell (Stars) 154* (64) Hurricanes 2021/22
Marcus Stoinis (Stars) 147* (79) Sixers 2019/2020
Matthew Wade (Hurricanes) 130* (61) Strikers 2019/2020
Ben McDermott (Hurricanes) 127 (65) Renegades 2021/22
Steve Smith (Sixers) 125* (66) Thunder 2022/23

Most sixes:

Player Number of Sixes
Chris Lynn (Strikers, Heat) 194
Aaron Finch (Renegades) 118
Ben McDermott (Heat, Hurricanes, Renegades) 111
Glenn Maxwell (Renegades, Stars) 109
Dan Christian (Heat, Hurricanes, Renegades, Sixers) 98

Big Bash League team records

Highest team totals:

Team Total Opponent Season
Melbourne Stars 2/273 Hobart Hurricanes 2021/22
Sydney Thunder 5/232 Sydney Sixers 2020/21
Adelaide Strikers 3/230 Hobart Hurricanes 2022/23
Hobart Hurricanes 4/229 Adelaide Strikers 2022/23
Perth Scorchers 7/229 Melbourne Stars 2022/23

Lowest team totals:

Team Total Opponent Season
Sydney Thunder 15 Adelaide Strikers 2022/23
Melbourne Renegades 57 Melbourne Stars 2014/15
Melbourne Renegades 60 Sydney Sixers 2020/21
Melbourne Stars 61 Sydney Sixers 2021/22
Sydney Thunder 62 Sydney Sixers 2022/23
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x