Australia's best betting sites

Ashes cricket betting

The 2023 Ashes will be fought out over five Tests between Australia and England in the UK. The Aussies hold the urn following a dominant 4-0 win at home in the 2021-22 summer, but how will they fare on foreign soil? will be covering the Ashes extensively from a gambling perspective. You can navigate around this page with the following tabs:

Quick Ashes details

Teams: England vs Australia
Who is hosting: England
Dates: 16 June–31 July 2023
 Venues: Edgbaston, Lord’s, Headingley, Old Trafford, The Oval

2023 Ashes Squads

Australian Squad

2023 Australian Ashes Squad

  1. Pat Cummins (C)
  2. Steve Smith (VC)
  3. Scott Boland
  4. Alex Carey (WK)
  5. Cameron Green
  6. Marcus Harris
  7. Josh Hazelwood
  8. Travis Head
  9. Josh Inglis (WK)
  10. Usman Khawaja
  11. Marnus Labuschagne
  12. Nathan Lyon
  13. Mitchell Marsh
  14. Todd Murphy
  15. Jimy Peirson (WK)
  16. Matt Renshaw
  17. Mitchell Starc
  18. David Warner
England Ashes Squad

2023 England Ashes Squad

  1. Ben Stokes (C)
  2. Ollie Pope
  3. Jonny Bairstow (WK)
  4. Joe Root
  5. James Anderson
  6. Stuart Broad
  7. Harry Brook
  8. Jack Leach
  9. Ben Duckett
  10. Zac Crawley
  11. Matthew Potts
  12. Ollie Robinson
  13. Dan Lawrence
  14. Chris Woakes
  15. Mark Wood
  16. Josh Tongue

2023 Ashes Test dates

Test Dates Venue Preview
First Test: June 16-20 Edgbaston, Birmingham To come
Second Test: June 28 – July 2 Lord’s, London To come
Third Test: July 6-10 Headingley, Leeds To come
Fourth Test: July 19-23 Old Trafford, Manchester To come
Fifth Test: July 27-31 The Oval, London To come

For more details, see the full 2023 Ashes tour fixture here

Ashes series futures betting

Market Australia England
Series Betting $2.25 $2.12
United States This is my table

This is my table

Ashes history: 1882-2023

History of the Ashes cricket series

Cricket’s greatest rivalry. Australia, England, battling it out for that little urn. The Ashes is the cricket series to end all series, pitting the traditional rivals against each other in a test of will and skill.

First played in 1882, the term The Ashes, is derived from the famous obituary, published in British newspaper The Sporting Times, in 1882, which stated English cricket had died and “the body will be cremated and the ashes taken to Australia”. It was the first time Australia had beaten the Poms on their home soil and sent the nation into mourning.

It finally showed that Australia was a viable opponent and led to the rivalry as we know it today.

The Ashes urn, which remains at the MCC Museum, at the storied Lords in England, is believed to contain the ashes of a cricket bail, although historians are only 95 per cent sure that is fact.

The rich history of the Ashes has produced some of the greatest series and single test matches you will ever see.

Played over five Tests since 1998, Australia dominated for many years, winning eight in a row between 1989 and 2003 before England claimed a 2-1 victory, that was followed by a 5-0 whitewash by the Aussies in 2007 – the first time that had occurred.

The Poms won three straight after that, with Australia briefly grabbing them back in 2014 before surrendering them the next year. That trend has flipped, however, with the Aussies asserting their dominance at home while drawing the 2019 series away to retain the Ashes for the first time since 2002-03.

Past Ashes results

While only one series splits Australia (33 wins) and England (32 wins) in the overall tally, the Brits have had the wood over their old enemy in recent years. England has won five of the last eight series and was the last team to win it away from home, although that record is somewhat tarnished by Australia’s big wins in 2014-15 (5-0) and 2017-18 (4-0). View all results.

Best bookmakers for the 2021-22 Ashes series

Every Australian online bookie already has extensive betting markets on the Ashes series, including on the first Test at Brisbane. It will pay to keep an eye on all the cricket betting sites offers and bonuses in the days leading up to the series opener. is our no.1 bookie for Australian summer of cricket, but the reality is there are plenty of options.

United States This is my table

This is my table

#1 BetOnline

Fast Payouts

50% matched deposit up to USD $5,000

Available to residents of United States
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x