Australia's best betting sites

Rogers wins top Godolphin award

Darren Weir’s racing manager Jeremy Rogers has won the Thoroughbred Excellence Award at the annual Australian Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards.

Rogers was nominated for his commitment to the racing industry around Australia, and particularly for his work in the programming 2500 runners nationwide for premier Melbourne trainer Weir.

He also won the Dedication to Racing Award.

“I’m truly blown away. I didn’t expect to win an award but to walk away with the top award is a true honour,” Rogers said.

“All I ever wanted to do was to be involved in racing and I soon realised that the administrative side of a stud or stable was where I had something to offer.”

“There are so many good people out there who should be recognised, I’m just thrilled to be one of them and to be acknowledged by organisations such as Godolphin, Racing Australia and Thoroughbred Breeders Australia is humbling.”

Weir said Rogers was an inspiration and the backbone of his racing operation.

“His role is high pressure with the number of runners we have but he does it extremely well and has had a huge impact on my business,” Weir said.

One of the most popular winners was Jane Gollan, the wife of Brisbane’s leading trainer Tony Gollan, who won the Thoroughbred Care and Welfare Award.

It was the third year Godolphin has held the awards in Australia to recognise and reward the work done behind racing’s front line and attracted a record number of nominations.

The full list of winners and runners up:


Winner: John Livingston, Operations Manager, Gai Waterhouse Racing (NSW)

Runner-up: Jade Rossington, Stud Manager, Willow Park Stud (NSW)


Winner: Kellie McCarthy, Assistant Manager, Mill Park Stud (SA)

Runner-up: Scott Eeles, Breaking Foreman, Godolphin (NSW)

Dedication to Breeding:

Winner: Vikki Cannon, Senior Horseperson, Gooree Park Stud (NSW)

Runner-up: Patrick Sheehan, Foaling Unit, Coolmore Stud (NSW)

Dedication to Racing:

Winner: Jeremy Rogers, Racing Manager, Darren Weir Racing (VIC)

Runner-up: Angela Taylor-Moy, Foreperson, Darren Weir Racing (VIC)


Winner: Lyn Dressing, Administration Manager, International Racehorse Transport (VIC)

Runner-up: Sarah Moran, Personal Assistant, Griffiths Racing (VIC)

Thoroughbred Care and Welfare:

Winner: Jane Gollan, Racing and Administration Manager, Gollan Racing (QLD)

Runner-up: Lee Purchase, Stable Foreman, Darren Weir Racing, (Vic)

No tags for this post.
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

More News

All Recent News
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x