Australia's best betting sites

Lloyd Williams aiming for seventh Cup win


Lloyd Williams is the most successful owner in the history of the Melbourne Cup with six winners and he has the favourite Yucatan this year.

Williams is also among the owners of The Cliffsofmoher.

His most recent winner Rekindling was prepared by Irish trainer by Joseph O’Brien. Yucatan and The Cliffsofmoher are trained by O’Brien’s father Aidan who has won almost all the biggest races in the world apart from the Melbourne Cup.

Aidan O’Brien does have a major win in Australia with Adelaide in the 2014 Cox Plate and has a third Cup runner this year with Rostropovich who is owned by Coolmore.

Williams’ Cup winners:

1981: Just A Dash. Trained by Tommy Smith. Ridden by Peter Cook

1985: What A Nuisance. John Meagher. Pat Hyland

2007: Efficient. Graeme Rogerson. Michael Rodd

2012: Green Moon. Robert Hickmott. Brett Prebble

2016: Almandin. Robert Hickmott. Kerrin McEvoy

2017: Rekindling. Joseph O’Brien. Corey Brown

More News

All Recent News