Australia's best betting sites

Facts and figures on the BMW


2400m, $1.5 million, weight-for-age, run at Rosehill

The winner receives automatic entry into the Group One Queen Elizabeth Stakes (2000m) and Group One Sydney Cup (3200m) at Randwick on April 8


* First run in 1963, won by Maidenhead

* It was a Quality Handicap from 1963-76

* In 1964 was run over 10 furlongs (2000m)

* Until 1990 was the H E Tancred Stakes, until 1995 The BMW, until 2002 Mercedes Classic before reverting to The BMW

* Some greats of the Australasian turf have won the race: Hyperno (1978), Kingston Town (1980), Bonecrusher (1986), Beau Zam (1988), Octagonal (1996, 1997), Might And Power (1998), Tie The Knot (1999, 2000), Makybe Diva (2005) and Hartnell (2015)

* The 2016 edition was won by the Chris Waller-trained Prefermen who led in a stable trifecta when he beat Who Shot Thebarman and Grand Marshal. Waller has Who Shot Thebarman, Grand Marshal and Libran in Saturday’s race.

* Nine horses have won the Ranvet Stakes-BMW double in the same year: Alibhai (1985), Myocard (1987), Beau Zam (1988), Stony Bay (1995), Tie The Knot (2000), Eremein (2006), Tuesday Joy (2008), Manighar (2012) and Silent Achiever (2014)


“She will absolutely be going forward in a repeat of the Oaks tactics now that she is up to 2400 metres, trainer Lee Curtis on VRC Oaks-winner Lasqueti Spirit.

“I don’t think she could have done any more (in the Australian Cup). It certainly put her in good shape for 2400 metres anyway because it was a hard run” Jameka’s jockey Hugh Bowman.

“He’ll get conditions to suit and I think he’ll be very hard to beat. They’ve got to be right on their game to be winning or competitive in these sorts of races, and he is. He’s absolutely flying” Tavago’s co-trainer Trent Busuttin.

No tags for this post.
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

More News

All Recent News
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x