Australia's best betting sites

Big Bash League past winners

The Big Bash League is Australia’s premier Twenty20 competition, featuring all of the country’s most powerful cricketers, plus a spattering of the world’s best talent.

The Perth Scorchers stand alone as the only multiple champion in the six years of the BBL’s existence, having won it in 2013-14, 2014-15 and they were also last season’s champion. Remarkably the Scorchers have played in five of the six BBL grand finals since the tournament’s inception in the 2011-12 summer.

The Perth Scorchers are also the $4 favourite to win the 2017-18 title with

Year Winner Runner up Result Man Of Match Player of Tournament
2011-12 Sydney Sixers 3/158(18.5 overs) Perth Scorchers 5/156 (20 overs) Sixers by 7 wickets Moises Henriques David Hussey
2012-13 Brisbane Heat 5/167 (20 overs) Perth Scorchers 9/133 (20 overs) Heat by 34 runs Nathan Hauritz Aaron Finch
2013-14 Perth Scorchers 4/191 (20 overs) Hobart Hurricanes 7/152 (20 overs) Scorchers by 39 runs Brad Hogg Ben Dunk
2014-15 Perth Scorchers 6/148 (20 overs) Sydney Sixers 5/147 (20 overs) Scorchers by 4 wickets Shaun Marsh Jacques Kallis
2015-16 Sydney Thunder 7/181 (19.3 overs) Melbourne Stars 9/176 (20 overs) Thunder by 3 wickets Usman Khawaja Chris Lynn
2016-17 Perth Scorchers 1/144 (15.5 overs) Sydney Sixers 9/141 (20 overs) Scorchers by 9 wickets Jhye Richardson Chris Lynn
2017-18 ? ? ? ? ?


2016-17: Scorchers defeated Sydney Sixers

The Perth Scorchers victory was set up by a great bowling performance, which restricted the Sydney Sixers to 9/141 from their 20 overs. English import Tim Bresnan (3/40) and Jhye Richardson (3/30) were the chief destroyers with three wickets each from a full complement of overs.

In response the Scorchers eased to 1/144, passing the Sixers total in the 16th over the innings. Sam Whiteman (41 from 21) and Michael Klinger (71 from 49) were the pick of the batsman as they easily picked apart the Sixers bowling attack.

Richardson was named man of the match for his bowling performance, while Chris Lynn was again named player of the tournament, after a scintillating run of form during the home and away games.

2015-16: Sydney Thunder defeated Melbourne Stars

Finally the BBL glamour team Melbourne Stars, that had featured players of the ilk of Shane Warne and Kevin Petersen in the past, made it into the grand final.

But there was more heartbreak for the Stars, with the Thunder chasing down 177 with three balls and three wickets in hand.

The Stars made 9/176 with Petersen top-scoring with 74 off 39 balls. All-rounder Shane Watson and Jacques Kallis were both economical and snared two wickets for the Thunder.

In reply Usman Khawaja was dynamic with 70 runs off 40 balls at the top of the order for the Thunder. Despite the best efforts of Marcus Stoinis (3/30 from four overs) it wasn’t enough for the Stars.

Khawaja was named man of the match, while Chris Lynn took player of the tournament honours.

2014-15: Perth Scorchers defeated Sydney Sixers

The Perth Scorchers went back to back with a BBL grand final win over the Sydney Sixers.

The win came on the back of a domineering 73 from 59 balls from Shaun Marsh, which solidified his reputation as one of the best players, ever, in the BBL.

The Sixers compiled 5/147 from their 20 overs with Moises Henriques (77 from 57) the shining light in the innings. Brad Hogg and Jason Behnrendorff were both miserly and it was almost enough for the Sixers.

The Scorchers run chase came down to the final ball of the innings, with Yasir Arafat scampering through for a single. Sixers star Brett Lee took wickets on the second and third last balls of the innings to truly send a scare through the Scorchers camp.

Marsh was named play of the match, while South African import Jacques Kallis notched up another record, being named player of the tournament.

2013-14: Perth Scorchers defeated Hobart Hurricanes

The Scorchers finally got the monkey off their back, winning the 2013-14 Big Bash league, after making the final of the previous two incarnations.

The Scorchers batsman set up the victory over the Hobart Hurricanes, compiling a mammoth 4/191 from their 20 overs. Craig Simmons (45 from 36), Shaun Marsh (63 from 43) and Mitchell Marsh (37 from 12) scorched the Hurricanes bowling attack with Ben Hilfenhaus (1-23 from four overs) the best of them.

In reply George Bailey gave the Hurricanes some hope with 58 off 32 balls, but when Pat Cummins dismissed him the match was as good as over.

Evergreen veteran Brad Hogg was awarded man of the match for his 3/17 from four overs, while Ben Dunk was named player of the tournament.

2012-13: Brisbane Heat defeated Perth Scorchers

The Brisbane Heat won the second BBL competition by 34 runs, with the grand final victory coming over the Perth Scorchers, who went back to back runner up.

The Heat bowlers take much of the plaudit for this victory, with a short pitched bowling strategy paying dividends. West Indian import Kemar Roach (3-18) produced his best display while Alistair McDermott and Ben Cutting both claimed two wickets. Surprisingly Nathan Haurtiz was named man of the match for his miserly 0/11 from three overs, opening the bowling.

While the Heat batted first and posted a total of 5/167, they did not have a stand out performer, or a player reach 50. With Luke Pomersbach (37 from 38), Joe Burns (43 from 27) and Dan Christian (37 from 21) the most prolific.

The Heat were coached by future Australian-coach Darren Lehmann with his ability to gel the team noted by powerbrokers.

2011-12: Sydney Sixers defeated Perth Scorchers

The Sydney Sixers defeated Perth Scorchers in the inaugural Big Bash League final

The Scorchers batted first and compiled 5/156 from their 20 overs, with Mitchell Marsh (77 from 57) and English import Paul Collingwood (32 from 25) the mainstays in the innings. The intimidating pair of Brett Lee and Mitchell Starc were the pick of the bowlers taking 2/21 and 2/40 respectively.

In reply the Sixers chased down the total with seven balls to spare. Moises Henriques (77 from 41) and Steve O’Keefe (48 from 46) were the cool heads in the run chase. Left-arm Chinaman Brad Hogg (1-29) and Ben Edmondson (2-30) were the pick of the Scorchers bowlers.

Henriques was awarded the man of the match. while Player Of The Series went to David Hussey.

Latest cricket news and bonus offers