Australia's best betting sites

Australia A defeat New Zealand A in opening ODI clash

Gurinder Sandhu has guided Australia A to victory over New Zealand
Gurinder Sandhu was brilliant in Australia A’s wins over New Zealand on Sunday.

Australia A has produced an outstanding bowling display to defeat New Zealand A in the first of a three-match series at Great Barrier Reef Arena on Sunday.

In a commanding start, Australia A clinched a decisive five-wicket victory, thanks largely to the outstanding bowling performance by Gurinder Sandhu on Sunday, who claimed 5-27 from nine overs.

Choosing to bowl first after winning the toss, Australia A found their initial breakthrough from paceman Tom Rogers, dismissing Sean Solia for eight. However, it was Sandhu’s electrifying spell that truly turned the game in Australia A’s favour.

MORE: How to bet on cricket

In a thrilling moment, Sandhu dismissed NZ no.3 Dean Foxcroft and captain Tom Bruce in successive balls. This triggered a NZ A batting collapse, eventually settling for 169 runs in 46 overs. Alongside Sandhu’s dominance, Matthew Kuhnemann’s effective spin bowling sealed the deal, pushing him closer to a potential international comeback, with 2-36 from his 10 overs.

Responding to the modest target set by New Zealand A, Australia A achieved their goal in just 31.3 overs. Despite collapsing to sit at 5-105, Ashton Turner and Victoria’s new captain Will Sutherland steadied the ship with a 65-run partnership. Turner’s composed 56 off 61 balls, paired with Sutherland’s brisk 34 at a run a ball, ensured the victory.

These Australia A v New Zealand fixtures are a last ditch effort for players to be called up to the senior squad for the ODI World Cup next month.

The next two games of the series are due to be played on Wednesday and Friday at Brisbane’s Allan Border Field.

Australia A v New Zealand A ODI squads

Australia A one-day squad: Will Sutherland (c), Ollie Davies, Liam Hatcher, Caleb Jewell, Matt Kuhnemann, Ben McDermott, Josh Philippe, Matt Renshaw, Tom Rogers, Gurinder Sandhu, Matt Short, Mark Steketee, Ashton Turner

New Zealand A squad (both formats): Muhammad Abbas, Adi Ashok, Tom Bruce (c), Leo Carter, Josh Clarkson, Henry Cooper, Jacob Duffy, Cam Fletcher, Dean Foxcroft, Mitch Hay, Scott Kuggeleijn, Will O’Rourke, Ajaz Patel, Michael Rae, Brett Randell, Tim Seifert, Sean Solia

More sports news

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x