Australia's best betting sites

Sportsbet pays out $1 million in Cotchin & Mitchell Brownlow bets

SPORTSBET.COM.AU has paid out over $1 million in winnings for the revised results of the 2012 Brownlow Medal.

Jobe Watson, who won the initial count with a tally of 30 votes, handed back the award of his own volition last week after serving a doping ban as a result of Essendon’s supplements scandal.

“The basic principle behind this prestigious award is to honour the fairest and best,” Watson said in a statement.

“If there is a question in people’s minds as to whether the 2012 award is tainted, the fairest and best thing to do is to give it back and honour the history that has gone before me.”

With Watson abdicating the throne, Richmond skipper Trent Cotchin and then-Hawthorn star Sam Mitchell were this week retrospectively crowned the fairest and best players of the 2012 AFL Premiership season.

The pair tied for second place on 26 votes each in the 2012 count, four votes behind the Essendon captain.

Both Cotchin and Mitchell were well backed in the Brownlow outright betting four years ago, with exactly 10,751 punters putting money on one or the other at Sportsbet.

As such, the bookie has decided to make things right by paying out over $1.07 million in winnings as bonus bets.

“Trent Cotchin and Sam Mitchell are the winners of the 2012 Brownlow Medal so why wouldn’t you pay out on them as winners? We feel it’s the right thing to do,” said Sportsbet’s Christian Jantzen.

Dangerfield the hot favourite in 2017 Brownlow betting

Looking forward, punters are already getting on Geelong superstar Patrick Dangerfield to become the first back-to-back winner since Robert Harvey in 1997 and 1998.

The 2016 Brownlow winner is the $5 favourite at ahead of Western Bulldogs Premiership hero Marcus Bontempelli, who is rated a $7 chance on the second line of betting.

Richmond’s Dustin Martin is pegged at $8 after racking up 25 votes in last season’s count, while Adelaide’s Rory Sloane ($9) rounds out the single-figure prospects.

Mitchell ($26) and Cotchin ($41) are well back in the pack, as is Watson at $67.

The other past winners quoted are Nat Fyfe ($10), Gary Ablett and Matt Priddis (both $23).

2017 Brownlow Medal betting at Sportsbet

Patrick Dangerfield – $5

Marcus Bontempelli – $7

Dustin Martin – $8

Rory Sloane – $9

Nathan Fyfe – $10

Luke Parker – $12

Daniel Hannebery – $17

Joel Selwood – $17

Robbie Gray – $21

Josh P. Kennedy – $21

Jack Steven – $21

Gary Ablett Jr. – $23

Matthew Priddis – $23

Adam Treloar – $23

Callan Ward – $23

Patrick Cripps – $26

Sam Mitchell – $26

Scott Pendlebury – $26

Dylan Shiel – $26

Stephen Coniglio – $29

Lachie Neale – $29

Luke Shuey – $29

Andrew Gaff – $34

Zach Merrett – $34

Tom Rockliff – $34

Dayne Beams – $41

Trent Cotchin – $41

Lance Franklin – $41

Bryce Gibbs – $41

More quoted at